
If you are in crisis, please contact:

WHO WE ARE
The Governor’s Challenge is a partnership

among the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs,

the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services’

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services

Administration and the State of North Dakota to

bring together community leaders and state

agencies to prevent suicide among Service

Member, Veterans, and their families. 

Core team organizations include ND Cares (team

lead), VA Fargo, ND Dept. of Veterans Affairs, ND

National Guard, FirstLink, ND Dept. of Health &

Human Services, ND Suicide Prevention

Coalition, University of ND (ND HOPES), American

Foundation for Suicide Prevention, and Mental

Health America of ND. 

Learn more at ndcares.nd.gov

Firearms, 
Mental Health, and 

Your Rights in 
North Dakota

Learn more at keepitsecure.net

NOTE: Laws are subject to change.
Information provided here is not legal

advice or a full summary of laws.
Consult a lawyer for legal advice.

Contact North Dakota Governor’s
Challenge at

701.333.2012
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public by Safe Storage for Suicide

Prevention Works



Fact:  According to Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention data, 86% of firearm deaths in
North Dakota are by suicide. Literature reviews
by Harvard's Means Matter Project reflect that, if
we can put time and space between a suicidal
thoughts and a firearm, lives can be saved.
While out of home storage is safest, even a
simple cable lock can provide time and space
during a time of crisis.

Myth:  Suicide by firearm doesn't
affect me, so I don't need to be
concerned about it.

Fact: Safe firearm storage is a responsibility of
the firearm owner. Although effective for safety
when used properly, large gun safes can be
costly. However, smaller cases for handguns
can be found for as little as $30. However, there
are several FREE options available in many
communities:

Adult friend or adult family member
Police or Fire station
Gun locks available from VA for no cost

Myth:  Safe storage options are
expensive.

Fact: Voluntary, safe storage of firearms during
times of crisis is endorsed by multiple
organizations, regardless of political affiliation:

National Shooting Sports Foundation
North Dakota Army National Guard
Department of Defense
Department of Veterans Affairs

Myth:  Safe storage for suicide
prevention is political.

Fact: Firearms will not be confiscated if you
receive voluntary mental health care in ND.
Regarding mental disability, only a court finding
pursuant to N.D.C.C. 62.1-02-01.2 can remove
an individual’s right to possess a firearm. If the
court finds that certain rules apply, the
individual’s name is sent to the Bureau Of
Criminal Investigation for inclusion in the
National Instant Criminal Background Check
System Database. In the case of being
committed to a mental health facility, the BCI is
only informed when a 90 day or longer
commitment has been enacted by a judge;
these 90-day commitments are not common
practice. Voluntary, temporary off site storage is
often the best option as it guarantees safety
without legal involvement.

Myth:  If I tell a health or mental
health professional about my suicidal
ideation, my guns will be taken away.

Fact: In North Dakota, adults who meet the legal
requirements may possess a rifle, shotgun or
handgun without a permit (N.D.C.C. 62.1-02).
Trusted adult friends and family members who
are North Dakota residents and meet the legal
criteria are great options to store firearms during
a crisis; they can return the firearm(s) when
appropriate with no legal action needed. If no
family or friends are available, many local police
and fire departments will offer to temporarily
store firearms. Bringing in a firearm to a
gunsmith to be cleaned or serviced or utilizing
gun range storage are other options to
temporarily remove it from the home (potential
time-frame restrictions could apply).

Myth:  Temporary out of home
storage isn’t an option for me.

North Dakota has enacted a restoration of rights
procedure for persons under a mental health-
based firearm disability, which can be explored
after 3 years has passed(N.D.C.C. 62.1-02-01.2).
An attorney can advise on this process.

Myth:  If I am involuntarily
committed for over 90 days and lose
my firearm rights, I’ll never get them
back.

Fact:  North Dakota does not have such a law.  A
Red Flag Law is a gun violence prevention law
that permits a State court to order the temporary
removal of firearms from a citizen who they
believe may present a danger to others or
themselves. Depending upon the State, it may
also be known as Extreme Risk Protection
Orders (ERPOs). 

Myth:  North Dakota has a “Red Flag
Law” or “Emergency Risk Protection
Order” Law.

Fact: For the majority of people who
experience a suicidal crisis, if unable to access
their chosen method even temporarily, they are
unlikely to engage in another action to end
their lives. Therefore, a clear way to prevent
suicide is to limit access to lethal means.

Myth:  If someone is suicidal there is
nothing that can be done to stop them.


